Suicide Prevention Coalition Academy

Missouri's second Suicide Prevention Coalition Academy was an incredible opportunity

to bring together representatives from 7 community coalitions across the state, as well as members of the Missouri Department of Mental Health, the Missouri Suicide Prevention Network, and other local agencies. There were 55 attendees total between the various coalitions and organizations, including our facilitators, Chris Davis, Kirsten Sierra, Whitney Shumway, Joan Masters, Margo Leitschuh & Elizabeth Makulec. A huge thanks to everyone who helped make this event possible including DMH as the funder for the event, MSPN and the Community Coalitions Support Subcommittee, the Education Development Center as the developers of the curriculum, and the staff of Missouri Partners in Prevention as the coordinators of the event.

Coalitions at the 2-day Academy learned from the **Community-Led Suicide Prevention Toolkit** (**CLSP Toolkit**) to gain the knowledge, skills, and tools to help them further their suicide prevention efforts around 7 core elements for coalition building and suicide prevention including, unity, data, planning, fit, integration, communication, and sustainability. Coalitions walked away with action plans to continue their development and implementation of efforts.

Throughout the next year, the coalitions will participate in monthly Community of Practice (CoP) sessions to gain further training and technical assistance and continue to connect with statewide partners and other coalitions in the cohort. The following coalitions participated in the 2024 Academy:

- Taney County Suicide Prevention Network
- Iron County Health Coalition
- Northwest Missouri Suicide Prevention Coalition
- Maryville Partners in Prevention Suicide Prevention Subcommittee (located at Northwest Missouri State University)
- Webster County CommUNITY Partnership
- Lafayette County Veterans Suicide Prevention Coalition
- EBJ Callaway Community Suicide Prevention Coalition

